Sausalito Cemetery was created in 1891 by the Sausalito Cemetery Association. The new cemetery was meant to be an improvement over the soon to be closed Sunny Hill Cemetery in the hills above Sausalito. The new cemetery site was at the very north end of Sausalito Land and Ferry Company holdings on Coyote Creek. Today, the new cemetery, now with its new name Forever Fernwood, is located in an unincorporated area south of the Mill Valley proper. The first burial
was in December, 1891, first official sale of a Lot was September 27, 1892.
The cemetery has had name changes through the years, Sausalito, Daphne Fernwood, and since 2004, Forever Fernwood. The original Sausalito cemetery portion, now called the Sausalito Section, is on a hill above the office. On that hill are many old time monuments, some few date to 1880s. These are the traditional gravemarkers seen it our photographs.
Some of the early monuments represent Portuguese immigrants, often from the Azores (Acores
). Many settled in Sausalito.
Today, Forever Fernwood specializes in "green" burials although traditional burials are still offered. Visit the Forever Fernwood
website to learn more about this charming cemetery. It is both old and very modern at the same time.
The staff at Forever Fernwood is friendly and helpful, but are limited in offering help on historic matters. Unfortunately he early records of the cemetery were destroyed in a fire, 1951.
Forever Fernwood Cemetery Location
301 Tennessee Valley Rd, Mill Valley, CA 94941
Degrees Minutes Seconds:
Latitude: 375236N Longitude: 1223123W
Latitude: 37.87667 Longitude: -122.52306